WPA Howto

Home Page Forums Network Management ZeroShell WPA Howto

This topic contains 1 reply, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  ptaylor 12 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

ptaylor

Is there a howto somewhere on what steps are needed to implement WPA Enterprise security on a wireless LAN with zeroshell?

I’ve not been able to locate one yet…

imported_fulvio
    Participant

You only need to configure your Access Points, because the included server RADIUS is already ready to work. In any case you should change the default X.509 certificate and the related private key.

Regards
    Fulvio

ptaylor

Fulvio,

First, let me say that I’m very new to Linux and know very little about WPA/WPA2 Enterprise. (Only that it is the most secure wireless you can use today. I’m very paranoid about my network security as my day job is with routers/switches for a major retailer in the US.)

In my search for an “appliance” that would perform WPA Enterprise for my local wireless network, I came across zeroshell. I have a spare net4801 from my Monowall development days that I thought would be great for this purpose. I haven’t ran across anything telling how to install the image to a flash disk though, so before trying to figure that out myself, I tried the ISO version in a virtual machine under Parallels. (I imagine that I could simply write it using the same tool that Manuel puts out to write images for Monowall, but didn’t know if that would work for a linux based system.)

For someone familiar with the whole WPA Enterprise/CA thing Zeroshell is probably great. In my case, however, I am lost. I don’t know what the process is for setting up WPA Enterprise utilizing CA’s and usernames w/ passwords, even with the nice webGui tools you provide. That’s why I was hoping there was a guided screenshot tour, or something to let me know how to set it up.