Replacing Cisco PIX with Zeroshell?

Home Page Forums Network Management ZeroShell Replacing Cisco PIX with Zeroshell?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  MisterPhoton 9 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

MisterPhoton

Hi all,

I’m an experienced developer who may have bit off more than he can chew by taking an “everything” position with a small agency. One of the issues my predecessor left me with was two internet connections through different ISPs (one T1 and one cable) that aren’t working together at all currently. On the T1 we have a Cisco PIX device and on the cable is an SMC cable modem/router.

I already have Zeroshell up and running on an old server (Dell Poweredge 2550) with three NICs and redundant connections for testing.

My question is:
    Is there some way to decipher the settings text dump from the Cisco PIX to ensure that I have everything set up exactly the same on Zeroshell so that our VoIP system and other crucial systems will be guaranteed to work?

Thanks!

ppalias

I don’t think so… You’ll have to configure the box from scratch and spend one day troubleshooting all your clients’ complaints.

MisterPhoton

Hrmph, oh well.

Zeroshell is making me feel stupid, anyway. I’m trying to configure the Net Balancer but I can’t seem to get it to work right – my main problem being I can’t figure out whether I should be assigning traffic on each physical device or to IP addresses.

Here’s how everything is hooked up:

Internet -> T1 Connection -> T1 Modem -> PIX -> ETH02 on Zeroshell

Internet -> Cable Connection -> Cable Modem/Router -> ETH01 on Zeroshell

ETH00 is my internal port.

It seems there’s not documentation covering my specific case, and as such I keep trying different instructions trying to get it to work, but nothing is working right.