Port Forwarding for IP Cameras a Real Challenge

Home Page Forums Network Management ZeroShell Port Forwarding for IP Cameras a Real Challenge

This topic contains 4 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  kogonies 9 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

kogonies

Hi Everyone,

Let me start of by thanking Fulvio for a GREAT product!

I’m new to ZeroShell and so far it’s been a breeze – setting up ZeroShell as a router/internet gateway with a 3G USB router. That was until now. I can’t get the port forwarding right!

I am setting up a number of IP cameras as demos that must be accessible over the internet and would like to use ZeroShell to do the security and port forwarding of this little network. Everything is working – the IP cams have Internet access, the DDNS (through DynDNS) is set up and is accessible from the outside. But all I see is the ZeroShell login screen when I try to access a camera from outside.

Am I missing something? Should I create a firewall rule, and how? Please help!

Thanks in advance.

DJ

Marcelo

The problem here is that you access the cameras though ports 80/443, and ZS is alrready listening to those ports.

Two steps that may help you:

1 – Disable ZS admin interface from outsiders and make it accessible just from internal (LAN) clients (This is also a good security measure)–> this can be done under Setup / HTTPS Tab / “Allow access only from” and select just your LAN interface (be careful to select the LAN and not the WAN interface as this can prevent you from accessing the admin pages from the LAN if you pick the wrong one).