Newbie to Linux and Zeroshell success story, kind of…

Home Page Forums Network Management ZeroShell Newbie to Linux and Zeroshell success story, kind of…

This topic contains 1 reply, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  shadoza 11 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

shadoza

First off, I would like to say that Zeroshell does a great job as far as I can tell. The purpose of this post is for me to share my learning experience with others that are new to both linux and zeroshell. I am also kind of in a hurry while writing this so please ignore grammatical errors.

I followed the HD install on the Documentation page and it didn’t work. I kept getting a GRUB command interface (not familiar with terminology so thats what I call it). I was able to install it into VMserver which I am new to also, and didn’t really understand how to make a transparent bridge which is completely necessary in my situation so I abandoned that So I did some investigation and modified the documentation page walkthrough and was able to successfully install to HD.

With the HD install, this is what I did:
    I follow the steps except when I gunzipped, I gunzipped to a new directory I made on the USB drive. I created the directory in windows by making a new folder, so I cannot give you the specifics on how to do it in the CLI, but I would guess, go to the directory of the usb drive, the /mnt/yourname and mkdir name. I used the web GUI of zeroshell and deleted all partitions on my HD. I then followed a step at the bottom of the “How can I install Zeroshell” link on the “FAQ” page. the “dd