Newbie needs a helping start – WAN configuration

Home Page Forums Network Management Networking Newbie needs a helping start – WAN configuration

This topic contains 2 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  voxmagna 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

voxmagna

Hi, this is my first post. I am not good at networking and better at hardware, but my aim is to get a laptop working as a test router to my fiber ISP simple setup. Then add Open VPN routing to my VPN service provider, evaluate the Intel Atom for wired speed throughput/power consumption with VPN encryption, then consider adding a wifi AP and moving to mini ITX if it all works. The laptop has a USB NIC fitted for the second Ethernet in my setup

I’ve configured the LAN side on the external USB NIC ETH01 because it’s 1000BaseT
    I have a fiber modem on a 40Mb service but could go to 60Mb/s.
    The web GUI is up on 10.99.122.1
    The DHCP is running o.k on the LAN interface ETH01.
    DNS entries are o.k

My problem is configuring the WAN on ETH00. The PPPoe interface is showing authenticated and ‘connected’ as follows: inet addr:**.208.106.205 P-t-P:195.166.128.191 (PPPoE: ETH00).

But I don’t know how to configure the IP for the WAN on ETH00. It is not static and I can see that the PPPoe interface ip’s change after each authentication or Zs reboot. I can force a temporary connection by entering the destination IP from the PPPo interface (e.g 195.166.128.1) as the WAN IP address.

I would appreciate some help because I thought the WAN NIC should be working in ‘auto discover’ mode, but I don’t see an option on the Zs screen. 🙁 🙁

I enabled NAT on the PPP0e interface, but I’m not sure if NAT should be enabled for the others.

I’m not looking for added features or security yet. I would just like to get a working route from a desktop via a laptop running Zs to the internet via a fiber modem.