How to connect multiple WAN links together for VC?

Home Page Forums Network Management Networking How to connect multiple WAN links together for VC?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  MadDogMike 9 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

MadDogMike

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Zeroshell, IP and routing but I have a problem to solve:

I have a head office and three branch offices.
    Each branch office has an ADSL line.
    The head office has three seperate ADSL lines (one line per branch office).

I’d like to create a VPN which allows all the branch offices to simultaneously connect to the head office for a multipoint video conference.

Assuming that each site connected to the main site multipoint conferencing unit needs it’s own bandwidth I seperate the main site links to allow each branch to connect at max speed.

Should I create 3 seperate VPN links (headoffice to branch) using ADSL VPN modems and then bridge the 3 seperate VPNs together at the head office? Would I be looking at bridging ETH1 (VPN1), ETH2 (VPN2) and ETH3 (VPN3) to ETH0 (multipoint conferencing unit) to do this?

If this is so would I be able to use an Alix box with a 4 ETH expansion card to achieve this?

Or should I create individual VPN links with a Quad ADSL2+ modem card and individual IPSec tunnels to the branch VPN modems and then add these VPNs to the bridge?

Any pointers would be appreciated.

MDM

😕

Either of those approaches would work but in your diagram you need to take a long hard look at your IP address scheme.

MadDogMike

Thanks vpn_rollercoaster for your comment to my posting for help.

I really am a newbie to networking, and I have limited knowlege of of VPN’s, so I really do need a bit of assistance here.

I guess I do need to look at my IP address scheme, but I do not know where to begin.