Hard Drive Install hangs at boot

Home Page Forums Network Management ZeroShell Hard Drive Install hangs at boot

This topic contains 9 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Nahte 9 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Nahte

Hi, I am a regional tech whose goal is to bring open source applications to rural school systems in Northeast Florida where money is very tight. I have little linux knowledge (heavy Microsoft and a bit of Cisco background), but am learning more and more. (Currently I’m working on using the captive portal in Zeroshell and radius authentication to help schools secure their wireless access – the setup we’ve developed with a couple of schools has worked really well!).

Zeroshell works great from the CD, but I’ve had some trouble with installing to a hard drive.

I followed the hard drive installation instructions here:
    http://digilander.libero.it/smasherdevourer/schede/linux/Zeroshell%20su%20HD-EN.pdf

I think I’ve followed all of these instructions correctly as well as followed some tips in other posts in the forums (I’ve read most hard drive install post I can find), but now the computer hangs with the following displayed:

Booting ‘Zeroshell – Net Services *IDE/SATA/USB VERSION *’

Boot (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernal /vmlinuz ramdisk_size=131072 quiet
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x2a00, size=0x1dfbc]

And the keyboard is locked up at this point.

I get the same result when installing to an 40GB IDE drive, a 80GB SATA drive, and a 1GB flash drive.

I don’t know if it makes a difference, but when I FDISK, I get a message that says that the drive has 80billion (exaggeration) cylinders which is more than 1024, but it might not be a big deal, etc…

I used Ubuntu to download the compact flash image install and it md5 checks just fine.

the PC I’m working with to install on is a Dell Optiplex 320.